What properties do Mixpanel's libraries store by default?

Many of Mixpanel's client-side libraries send certain super properties automatically. Below is the current list of event properties we collect for Engagement and People.

JavaScript

Engagement

  • City ($city) - The city of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Region ($region) - The region (state or province) of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Country (mp_country_code) - The country of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Browser ($browser) - Browser name (not versioned).
  • Browser Version ($browser_version) - Browser version number.
  • Device ($device) - The name of the event sender's device, if they're on mobile web.
  • Current URL ($current_url) - The full URL of the webpage on which the event is triggered.
  • Initial Referrer ($initial_referrer) - Referring URL at first arrival.
  • Initial Referring Domain ($initial_referring_domain) - Referring domain at first arrival.
  • Operating System ($os) - OS of the event sender.
  • Mixpanel Library (mp_lib) - Mixpanel Library that sent the event.
  • Referrer ($referrer) - Referring URL, including your own domain.
  • Referring Domain ($referring_domain) - Referring domain, including your own domain.
  • Screen Height ($screen_height) - The height of the screen of the device.
  • Screen Width ($screen_width) - The width of the screen of the device.
  • Search Engine ($search_engine) - Search engine a customer used when they arrived at your domain.
  • Search Keyword (mp_keyword) - Search keywords detected on the referrer from a search engine to your domain.
  • UTM Parameters (utm_source, utm_medium, etc.) - Any utm tags associated with the link a customer clicked to arrive at your domain. Each utm will be collected under its own property.

People

Default properties update within a profile whenever a property is set or updated with a mixpanel.people.set() call.

  • City ($city) - The city of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Region ($region) - The region (state or province) of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Country ($country_code) - The country of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Timezone ($timezone) - Timezone of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Browser Version ($browser_version) - Browser version number.
  • Browser ($browser) - Browser name (not versioned).
  • Initial Referrer ($initial_referrer) - Referring URL at first arrival.
  • Initial Referring Domain ($initial_referring_domain) - Referring domain at first arrival.
  • Operating System ($os) - OS of the event sender.
  • Last Seen ($last_seen) - The last time a People property was set or updated (should not be set manually).

iOS

Engagement

  • City ($city) - The city of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Region ($region) - The region (state or province) of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Country (mp_country_code) - The country of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • App Build Number ($app_build_number) - General build of this app.
  • App Version ($app_version_string) - Current app version.
  • Carrier ($carrier) - Wireless carrier of the device owner.
  • iOS Ifa ($ios_ifa) - iOS identifier for Advertisers.
  • iOS Version ($os_version) - Current version of iOS on the device.
  • Manufacturer ($manufacturer) - Always Apple (so far...).
  • Lib Version ($lib_version) - Mixpanel library used to send this data.
  • Model ($model) - Device model ID, in format "iPad 3,4". Full list here.
  • Device Model (mp_device_model) - Legacy device model ID, same as $model
  • Operating System ($os) - "iPhone OS" (outdated naming convention).
  • Screen Height ($screen_height) - Height, in points, of the device screen.
  • Screen Width ($screen_width) - Width, in points, of the device screen.
  • Wifi ($wifi) - Set to true if Wifi is connected, false if not.

People

Default properties update within a profile whenever a property is set or updated with a mixpanel.people set call.

  • City ($city) - The city of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Region ($region) - The region (state or province) of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Country (mp_country_code) - The country of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Timezone ($timezone) - Timezone of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • iOS App Release ($ios_app_release) - General build of this app.
  • iOS App Version ($ios_app_version) - Full detail of this app build.
  • iOS Device Model ($ios_device_model) - Device model ID, in format "iPad 3,4". Full list here.
  • iOS Lib Version ($ios_lib_version) - Mixpanel library used to send this data.
  • iOS Version ($ios_version) - Current version of iOS on the device.
  • iOS Ifa ($ios_ifa) - iOS identifier for Advertisers.
  • Last Seen ($last_seen) - The last time a People property was set or updated (cannot be set manually).

Android

Engagement

  • City ($city) - The city of the event sender, parsed from IP. .
  • Region ($region) - The region (state or province) of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Country (mp_country_code) - The country of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • App Version ($app_version_string) - Current app version.
  • App Build Number ($app_build_number) - General build of this app.
  • Bluetooth ($bluetooth_enabled) - Set to true is Bluetooth is enabled, false if not.
  • Bluetooth Version ($bluetooth_version) - Set to "none", "ble", or "classic".
  • Brand ($brand) - Device brand.
  • Carrier ($carrier) - Wireless carrier of the device owner.
  • Has NFC ($has_nfc) - Set to true if Near Field Communication is being used, false if not.
  • Has Telephone ($has_telephone) - Set to true if this device has telephone functionality, false if not.
  • Lib Version ($lib_version) - Version of the Mixpanel library used to send this data.
  • Manufacturer ($manufacturer) - Device manufacturer.
  • Model ($model) - Device model.
  • Operating System ($android_os) - Android.
  • Os Version ($os_version) - Current Android version for this device.
  • Screen DPI ($screen_dpi) - Pixel density of the device screen.
  • Screen Height ($screen_height) - Height, in pixels, of the device screen.
  • Screen Width ($screen_width) - Width, in pixels, of the device screen.
  • Wifi ($wifi) - Set to true is Wifi is connected, false if not.
  • Google Play Services ($google_play_services) - Verifies that Google Play services is installed and enabled on this device, and that the version installed on this device is no older than the one required by this client.

People

Default properties update within a profile whenever a property is set or updated with a mixpanel.getPeople().set() call.

  • City ($city) - The city of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Region ($region) - The region (state or province) of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Country (mp_country_code) - The country of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Timezone ($timezone) - Timezone of the event sender, parsed from IP.
  • Android App Version ($android_app_version) - Current app version.
  • Android App Version Code ($android_app_version_code) - Current app version.
  • Android Lib Version ($android_lib_version) - Version of the Mixpanel library used to send this data.
  • Android Os ($android_os) - Android.
  • Android Os Version ($android_os_version) - Current Android version for this device.
  • Android Brand ($android_brand) - Device brand.
  • Android Model ($android_model) - Device model.
  • Android Manufacturer ($android_manufacturer) - Device manufacturer.
  • Last Seen ($last_seen) - The last time a People property was set or updated (cannot be set manually).