LTV:如何計算生命週期價值

客戶生命週期價值可幫助您估量您的客戶在與您建立業務關係期間所產生的凈利潤。

客戶生命週期價值,又稱 CLV 或 LTV,是指客戶對企業的貨幣價值,是瞭解公司能够产生的利润或可以花費多少來獲取新客戶的重要指標。

為什麼客戶生命週期價值如此重要?

客戶生命週期價值能告知您每個客戶產生的價值。因此,CLV 用於瞭解您的客戶關係是否有利可圖。產品、行銷、廣告及銷售團隊經常使用 CLV 來瞭解他們在獲得、吸引和留住客戶時可以花費多少錢,同時仍然可以繼續盈利。但在計算 CLV 前,您還必須瞭解其他幾項:

平均購買價值

這是客戶交易的平均值。例如,對於電子商務公司,這可能是每個購物車的平均值,而對於訂閱服務,這可能是訂閱的成本。

平均毛利率

它會告知您每個客戶購買的哪些部分是利潤,哪些部分是成本。平均毛利率可以按照以下公式計算:
毛利率 = (總收入 – 銷售成本) ÷ (總收入)

購買頻率

這是客戶在給定時間段 (通常為一年) 內進行的平均交易數。透過將平均購買數量除以平均客戶數來計算購買頻率。例如,對於每月訂閱服務,一年達成的購買數量為 12。

客戶生命週期

這是典型的客戶關係的時長。為便於計算,這通常以與購買頻率相同的時間段的倍數進行測量。例如,善於客戶留存企業的客戶生命週期可能有5年,而不善於客戶留存的企業則的客戶生命週期可能只有6個月或0.5年。改善客戶生命週期通常是提高 CLV 的一種非常有效的方法
必須留意的是,客戶生命週期計算因企業類型而異。對於依賴固定合約的 SaaS 產品,當客戶不續訂合約時,生命週期將結束。但是,對於消費者應用程式,產品團隊必須確定其何時將客戶視為流失客戶 (例如,在連續 2 週未記錄活動之後)。

客戶獲取成本

客戶獲取成本,通常稱為 CAC,指您用來獲取客戶的平均支出金額,包括從行銷和廣告到註冊獎勵 (例如 10 美元 Amazon 禮品卡)。能幫助您瞭解計算 CAC 的複雜性和細微差別。

如何計算生命週期價值?

一旦您獲得上述資訊,計算 CLV 就不難了。只需將平均購買價值與平均毛利率、購買頻率和客戶生命週期相乘。最後,減去您的購置成本。

CLV = (平均購買價值 × 毛利率 × 購買頻率 × 客戶生命週期) – CAC

例如,如果您的產品是每月 10 美元的訂閱服務,平均毛利率為 70 美元,% a您將花費 20 美元來獲取生命週期為 60 個月 (或 5 年) 的客戶,您的客戶生命週期價值計算如下:

CLV= (10 美元/月 × 0.7 × 12 個月/年 × 5 年) – 20 美元 = 400 美元

計算客戶生命週期有多種方法,但上述方法是其中最廣泛使用的方法。但是,CLV 可能因各種因素而異,例如產品 SKU/方案 (免費與付費)、用戶類型 (消費者與企業),以及用戶參與度 (進階用戶與臨時用戶)。

更精確地計算 CLV

透過進一步分解 CLV,可以執行更多進階 CLV 分析,並能幫助您尋找合適的用戶群組或需要關注的產品 SKU,瞭解在購置上需要花費多少費用等。

按群組計算 CLV

群組分析有助於您根據常見特徵或體驗將用戶群分解為機個用戶群組,從而方便您更好地識別整個用戶生命週期中的用戶行為。按群組分為 CLV 有助於您瞭解要定位的用戶或產品供應。

例如,您可以根據您提供的每個方案建立用戶群組,並比較其 CLV 以找出哪些用戶最有利可圖。Amazon 做到了這一點,並發現 Amazon Prime 成員的 CLV 更高,因此理應得到更多關注。

使用貼現率計算 CLV 的凈現值 (NPV)

CLV 計算首先假設您的客戶在一定時間內每月或每年產生一筆平均收入金額,因此產生利潤。但是,與現今相比,您將來獲得的收入和利潤不那麼有價值。 

貼現將來的收入和利潤將您的 CLV 與您當前的投資成本及機會成本聯繫在一起。貼現率因公司而異,但一旦您有固定的貼現率,便可透過每個期間單獨貼現率或使用線上 NPV 計算機 (甚至 Excel) 來計算 CLV 的凈現值 (NPV)。

CLV 能告知我關於我的業務的哪些資訊?

客戶生命週期價值可以清晰闡明許多關鍵業務驅動因素和機會,便於您作出更明智的決策。部份範例如下:

  • 瞭解客戶整體盈利能力,以便您能預測最佳 CAC 的具體情況。
  • 計算出隨時間推移的用戶盈利能力,以便您能確定時間與價值的優先順序。
  • CLV 歸納至每個獲取渠道以在付費渠道獲取更多 ROI。
  • 按產品或方案分解 CLV 以推廣最有利可圖的產品。

盡管有許多方法可以分解和套用 CLV,但僅將其視為盡可能便宜地獲取盡可能多的客戶的工具,必將導致失敗。深入分析您的 CLV 確實能幫助您確定細分、留存和盈利的優先順序,以便提高未來客戶的盈利能力。但是,正如《哈佛商業評論》所指出,CLV 應該用來將客戶視為創造價值的合作夥伴,而不是價值提取的目標。

請記住,CLV 只是其中一個線索,但結合了更多進階分析後,它便成為瞭解您的客戶及其對您的企業之影響的有效方法。

瞭解 Mixpanel能如何幫助您

透過Mixpanel群組分析深入洞悉您的用戶 LTV

開始免費試用

LTV: How to calculate lifetime value

Customer lifetime value helps you measure the net profit your customers generate over the duration of their relationship with your business. 

Customer lifetime value, often called CLV or LTV, is defined as the monetary value of a customer to a business, and is an important metric to understand how profitable a company can be or how much it can potentially spend to acquire new customers.

Why is customer lifetime value so important?

Customer lifetime value tells you how much business value each individual customer generates. As a result, CLV is used to understand if your customer relationships are profitable. Product, marketing, advertising, and sales teams often use CLV to find out how much money they can spend on acquiring, engaging, and retaining customers while still being profitable. But before you get to calculating CLV, there are a few other things you must know:

Average Purchase Value

This is the average value of a customer transaction. For example, for an eCommerce company this could be the average value of each cart, while for a subscription service this could be the cost of the subscription.

Average Gross Margin

This tells you what part of each customer purchase is profit and what part is cost. Average gross margin can be calculated with the following formula:
Gross Margin = (Total Revenue – Cost of Sales) ÷ (Total Revenue)

Purchase Frequency

This is the average number of transactions a customer makes over a given time period (usually a year). Purchase frequency can be calculated by dividing the average number of purchases by the average number of customers. For example, for a monthly subscription service, the number of purchases made over a year is 12.

Customer Lifespan

This is the length of a typical customer relationship. To make calculations easier, this is generally measured in multiples of the same period as the purchase frequency. For example, a business that retains its customers well may have a customer lifespan of 5 years, while one that isn’t good at retaining its customers may have a lifespan of 6 months, or 0.5 years. Improving customer lifespan is often a very effective way to improve your CLV.
Note, customer lifespan calculations vary for different types of businesses. For a SaaS product that relies on fixed contracts, the lifespan ends when a customer fails to renew their contract. For a consumer app, however, the product team will have to figure out when they consider a customer to have churned (for example, after 2 weeks of no recorded activity).

Customer Acquisition Cost

Customer acquisition cost, often called CAC, is the average amount you spend on acquiring a customer, and includes everything from marketing and advertising to sign up incentives,( for example, a $10 Amazon gift card). This article can help you understand the intricacies and nuances of calculating CAC.

How do I calculate customer lifetime value?

Once you have the above information, calculating CLV is easy. Just multiply your average purchase value with your average gross margin, purchase frequency, and customer lifespan. Finally, subtract your cost of acquisition.

CLV = (Average Purchase Value × Gross Margin × Purchase Frequency × Customer Lifespan) – CAC

For example, if your product is a $10 a month subscription service with an average gross margin of 70% and you spend $20 to acquire a customer with a lifespan of 60 months (or 5 years), your customer lifetime value calculation would look like this:

CLV= ($10/month × 0.7 × 12 months/year × 5 years) – $20 = $400

There are multiple ways of calculating customer lifetime value, but the above method is one of the most popular and comprehensive ones. However, CLV can vary based on a variety of factors, like product SKUs/plans (free vs. paid), user types (consumer vs .business), and degree of user engagement (power users vs. casual users).

Calculating CLV with more accuracy

More advanced CLV analyses can be done by breaking down your CLV further, and can help you find the right user cohorts or product SKUs to focus on, understand how much to spend on acquisition, and more.

Calculate CLV by cohort

Cohort analytics helps you break down your user base into groups of users based on common characteristics or experiences, allowing you to better identify their behavior across the user lifecycle. Breaking down your CLV by cohort can help you understand which users or product offerings to target.

For example, you can create cohorts of users on each plan you offer, and compare their CLV to find out which users are most profitable. Amazon did just that and found that Amazon Prime members had a much larger CLV, and hence deserved more focus.

Calculate net present value (NPV) of your CLV by using a discount rate

CLV calculations begin with the assumption that your customers generate an average amount of revenue—and therefore profit—each month or year for a certain amount of time. But the revenue and profits you receive in the future is less valuable than they would be if received today. 

Discounting future revenue and profits ties your CLV to the current cost of your investment, as well as your opportunity cost. The discount rate varies from company to company, but once you have a fixed discount rate, you can calculate a net present value (NPV) of your CLV by separately discounting profits for each period, or by using an online NPV calculator (or even Excel).

What can CLV teach me about my business?

Customer lifetime value can shed light on a lot of key business drivers and opportunities, allowing you to make more informed decisions  Some examples are:

  • Understanding overall customer profitability so you can forecast what an optimal CAC should look like.
  • Figuring out user profitability over time so you can prioritize time to value.
  • Attributing CLV for each acquisition channel to get more ROI on paid channels.
  • Breaking down CLV by product or plan to promote the most profitable offering.

Though there are many ways to break down and apply CLV, viewing it only as a tool for acquiring as many customers as possible as cheaply as possible is a recipe for failure. It’s true that deeply analyzing your CLV can help you prioritize segmentation, retention, and monetization to improve future customer profitability. But, as Harvard Business Review states, CLV should be used to see customers as value-creating partners rather than as value-extraction targets.

Remember, CLV is just a piece of the puzzle, but combined with more advanced analyses, it is a powerful way to understand your customers and their impact on your business.

See how Mixpanel can help

Get deeper insights about your users LTV with Mixpanel cohort analysis

Start a free trial