KKday 將用戶行為洞見視為產品的核心,藉由分析數據創造更好的使用者體驗。

「我們一直以為商品的轉換時間是介於 1 到 3 天,但在 Mixpanel 查看數據後發現:85% 的情境中,使用者只需短短的 50 分鐘就完成了預訂的過程。這讓我們意識到,我們不該為了 1 到 3 天這個區間去優化用戶互動設計,而應該針對 50 分鐘這個時間基準。」

施幸宜 — KKday 產品經理
概述
挑戰
  • 無法追蹤跨平台的用戶行為,難以獲得完整的使用者旅程
  • 須整合不同部門共享的用戶行為數據及指標,使各方的觀察角度保持一致
成果
  • 強化搜尋功能,自動推薦 20 個最受歡迎的城市,有鑑於使用者搜尋的關鍵字中有 80% 是城市名稱
  • 優化結帳頁面中跳出率最高的功能,使轉換率提升一倍
  • 正確識別平台的轉換時間作為基準,強化使用者之交互設計
  • 改善商品排序,使點擊率提高 7.7%
  • 應用機器學習演算法,將個人化產品排序的轉換率提高 4.4%
+1x 結帳頁面轉換率
+7.7% 點擊率
應用機器學習演算法,將個人化產品排序的轉換率提高 4.4%
關於 KKday

KKday 是一個專門提供旅遊體驗 (local Tour) 的線上平台,網羅世界各地的深度行程,為旅客省去了要到不同網站找行程和訂票的困擾,提升規劃自由行的舒適度。從2015年初上線至今,員工從原本的20人增加到現在已經超過500人,並在台灣、香港、新加坡、韓國、日本、馬來西亞、泰國、菲律賓、 印尼、越南、中國大陸等市場都設立據點,成為亞洲最大旅遊體驗平台。

挑戰

KKday 於 2014 年創立網站,並於 2017 年建置行動版網站與 App 應用程式以因應快速增長的行動裝置流量。此後,產品團隊發現他們需要一種追蹤用戶行為的方式,不僅針對單一平台,而是須串連三個平台之間的使用者行為。

KKday 產品經理施幸宜指出,「想像一下,一位用戶在上班時使用電腦瀏覽我們的網站,晚上回家用行動版網站下單購買,後來又下載我們的 App 來檢查訂單,並將 KKday 推薦給朋友。這中間有相當多的用戶旅程,若我們無法追蹤,會是非常可惜的事。」

然而,他們現有的工具無法達成這樣的願景。隨著更多用戶開始使用行動版網站和 App,這個需求變得更加迫切。

尋找合適的分析平台

為達到以使用者為中心的願景,KKday 團隊開始研究各個產品分析平台,而在調研過程中,Mixpanel 跨不同裝置與平台的強大分析功能,給產品團隊留下深刻的印象。

施幸宜解釋說,「我們發現在 Mixpanel 可以透過嵌入事件和指定屬性來分析用戶行為,並根據這些數據將用戶劃分到不同的群組。如此一來,我們就能針對這些群組,進行更精準的行銷推廣活動,產出更高的業績。」

成果
高效引領成功

Mixpanel 很快地為 KKday 大幅提升用戶行為的可見度,KKday 團隊也藉由 Mixpanel 的見解報告,迅速獲得不同的見解與開發方向。他們首先發現,用戶搜尋的關鍵字中,有 80% 是城市的名稱。因此團隊在網站的搜尋框中加上一項新功能,當用戶點擊搜尋框時,會顯示 20 個最受歡迎的城市,幫助用戶在更短時間內找到合適的商品。

在用戶開始鍵入搜索字詞之前,搜尋框就已顯示排名前 20 的城市,加快了大多數用戶的搜尋體驗。

KKday 團隊同時查看 Mixpanel 的漏斗報告,成功找出結帳頁面上導致最多用戶流失的功能,並積極優化這些功能、創造更好的使用體驗,讓結帳頁面轉換率翻倍,順勢推動業績的增長。

施幸宜指出,「在引入 Mixpanel 之前,我們無法掌握完整的用戶旅程,現在我們可以更全面、更精準地觀察,根據行為對用戶進行細分。我們一直以為商品的轉換時間是介於 1 到 3 天,但在 Mixpanel 查看數據後發現:85% 的情境中,使用者只需短短的 50 分鐘就完成了預訂的過程。這讓我們意識到,我們不該為了 1 到 3 天這個區間去優化用戶互動設計,而應該針對 50 分鐘這個時間基準。」

個人化精準推薦

KKday 團隊為了優化商品的排序與呈現方式,在網站上進行一連串的試驗並挖掘數據。透過 Mixpanel 的見解報告,他們發現若將原有僅看銷售量的排序方式,加上瀏覽量的參數去推薦商品,點擊率竟能提升 7.7%。

Mixpanel 也協助 KKday 團隊更加了解機器學習對平台產生的影響力。團隊在網站上應用機器學習演算模型,個人化每位用戶的商品排序,透過 Mixpanel 中的漏斗報告,比較「未個人化」與「個人化」的行為數據,發現「個人化」的轉換率增加了 4.4%。這項成果使 KKday 團隊決定持續投入資源至機器學習,改善用戶體驗並提高 KKday 平台的效能。

打造數據驅動的文化

KKday 的另一個關鍵目標是建立跨部門數據追蹤的一致性,利用 Mixpanel 分析工具,培養以使用者為中心的文化。

以往不同的部門會各自查看 Google Analytics 和其他商業智能工具;如今 KKday 使用 Mixpanel 提供統一的視角來研究用戶行為與關鍵指標,使全公司以一致的方式,從不同的角度了解用戶。

KKday 產品長陳閔煌分享,「現在全公司都能理解用戶行為並重視數據分析,並在制訂策略之前,先針對關鍵指標提出假設。因為時間和開發資源都相當寶貴,所以建立追蹤指標的能力,確立各專案的優先順序,更有效率地達到最終目標,對我們來說非常重要。」

「現在全公司都能理解用戶行為並重視數據分析,並在制訂策略之前,先針對關鍵指標提出假設。因為時間和開發資源都相當寶貴,所以建立追蹤指標的能力,確立各專案的優先順序,更有效率地達到最終目標,對我們來說非常重要。」

陳閔煌 — KKday 產品長

KKday makes understanding user behavior central to their business as they work to delight customers with their offerings.

We used to think that our time to conversion was between one to three days but after looking at the data in Mixpanel, we realized that 85% of the time, people were completing their booking process within just 50 minutes. This informed us to better design our user engagement to fit within this time window, instead of optimizing it for one to three days.

Sherry Shih, Product Manager, KKday
Overview
Challenges
  • Unable to track user behavior across platforms to get a complete view of their user journey
  • Need to align different departments so that they can have the same view of user behavior data and shared metrics
Results
  • Identified that 80% of keywords searched by users were city names, and this informed them to update the search function to show the 20 most popular cities by default
  • Pinpoint which specific function on the checkout page was causing the most drop-off, and optimized the page to double the conversion rates
  • Correctly identified time to conversion and design the user engagement to fit within this time window
  • Improved product sorting to drive 7.7% increased click rate
  • Quantified that their machine learning algorithm for personalizing product sorting was driving a 4.4% increase in conversion rate
2x the conversion rates at checkout
7.7% increase in click rate
Improved search feature and quantified the impact of machine learning
Company

Founded in 2014, KKday is one of Asia’s leading innovative travel e-commerce platforms that seeks to offer its users the world’s most unique and local travel experiences. Headquartered in Taiwan, they have served over 1 million travelers in more than 500 cities. The company has offices across Asia, including Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Singapore, and Thailand.

Challenges

KKday had been operating their websites since launch in 2014, but adapted to increased mobile traffic by launching a mobile website and app in 2017. With those launches, the product team found that they needed a way to track user behavior not just on each of their different digital assets, but also to connect the dots between the users’ behavior across all three.

“Imagine if a user browses our website in the day using their work computer, then goes home at night to make a purchase using our mobile site, and then downloads our app to check their order and recommend it to their friends. There are many user journeys of this kind, and it is a pity if we cannot track this.” said Sherry Shih, Product Manager at KKday.

Unfortunately, their existing tools could not support this vision, and this became more urgent as more users started to leverage their new mobile website and app.

Identifying the right product analytics platform

This led the KKday product team to search for a new product analytics partner who could support their user-focused vision. In the course of their research, the team was impressed by Mixpanel’s powerful analytics capabilities across different platforms.

Sherry explains, “We found that we can analyze user behaviors by embedding events and attributes, and then group users into cohorts based on their behaviors. This would allow us to run targeted marketing campaigns on these cohorts to help us progress towards our revenue goals.”

 

Results
Big wins, early on

It wasn’t long before the improved visibility reaped benefits for KKday. One of the first things that they noticed through Mixpanel’s Insights report was that 80% of the keywords searched by their users were city names. To help users find what they were looking for in a much shorter time, the KKday product team built a new feature in their search box.  The 20 most popular cities now show up as soon as users click in the search box.

The top 20 cities are shown in the search box before the user even starts to type the search terms, making the search experience faster for the majority of users.

The team also looked at their conversion funnels and successfully identified which functions on the checkout page were causing the most drop-off. This enabled them to make positive changes to the checkout experience and double their conversion rates to drive increased revenues.

“Before Mixpanel, we didn’t have the complete map of our user journey. Now that we have full visibility, we can segment our users according to their behavior and better target them. We used to think that our time to conversion was between one to three days but after looking at the data in Mixpanel, we realized that 85% of the time, people were completing their booking process within just 50 minutes. This informed us to better design our user engagement to fit within this time window, instead of optimizing it for one to three days,” said Sherry.

Hitting the right notes with personalization

KKday continued to dig into the data and experiment on their website to optimize the sorting/display of their products. By looking at the Insights report in Mixpanel, the team realized that they could show more relevant products by sorting on a combination of the number of times a product was sold and the number of times they were viewed. This led to a 7.7% increase in click rates compared to sorting just on sales volume.

Mixpanel also helped to make it easy for KKday to understand the impact of their machine learning efforts. The team implemented machine learning to help personalize the product sorting for each user. By comparing the results with and without the personalization, they could see that personalization resulted in 4.4% more conversions via the Funnels report in Mixpanel. This helped them to decide to continue investing resources into machine learning to improve their customers’ experience and the performance of the KKday platforms.

Building alignment and a data-driven culture

One of the key goals for KKday was to build alignment across departments and to help foster a company-wide culture to be focused on their users. Here too, the team benefitted from their use of Mixpanel.

While different departments used to look at Google Analytics and other business intelligence tools separately, KKday now uses Mixpanel to serve the same view of user behavior insights and key metrics to help the entire company to understand their users in the same way even if the different departments may use the insights differently.

“Now our entire company understands user behavior and values data analysis. Before making strategies, we first come up with hypotheses for our primary metrics. Being able to track our metrics helps us to determine which projects are important and reach our goals faster. This is important for us because time and resources are valuable,” shared Mike Chen, Chief Product Officer at KKday.

Now our entire company understands user behavior and values data analysis. Before making strategies, we first come up with hypotheses for our primary metrics. Being able to track our metrics helps us to determine which projects are important and reach our goals faster. This is important for us because time and resources are valuable.

Mike Chen, Chief Product Officer, KKday